Installing Ubuntu on my server

In anticipation of a server for business purposes, I downloaded Ubuntu Desktop and Server 64 bit.  The desktop edition for general operating system overall (for my sanity as well as entertainment – see I cant live without hearing music.); the ubuntu server is purposely to be run under a VirtualBox chain.  Servers will be divided on to two parts, one is for dev-server (I am hosting Adempiere open source) and another two is for the real app-server clusters and load balancing.

Now after burning the 2 edition CD’s, I installed the desktop to no avail.  So I downloaded the 32 bit version and alas it installed.  This means that I cannot install the 64 bit version of the Ubuntu Server, but I have to download another 32 bit version of the server. Life sucks.  My processor is an Intel Core 2 Duo which I am sure it supports EM64T.  Well, if it doesnt, the Ubuntu Desktop 64 bit wouldn’t run a bit up to the “Install Ubuntu” graphical desktop part; however somewhere along the way, it almost always produces “Installation Crashed” for reasons I don’t know.

Now, I have installed desktop edition 32 bit. List that I still have to download and contain myself for now.

  • Download the Ubuntu Server 32 bit also.
  • Install VirtualBox
  • Install Java
  • Install Tomcat
  • and since I am a developer, it would do me a great deal of favor if I installed IntelliJ IDEA also.

While browsing along with the Entertainment section of Ubuntu, I found a great deal of free and fun softwares. Shit, open source really rocks!!! =)

Leave a comment